Home » Blog: Always... Keep Writing » 2016 Christmas » I was a single Mom

I was a single Mom

1991-02-14 Lupe n boys-b

In the 80’s I married the father of my future sons. Through the ‘90’s and beyond, I was a single mom. Has anyone seen the Hallmark movie, “Come Dance at My Wedding” with John Schneider aka Luke Duke of Hazard County? (I’m hooked on Hallmark movies.) Anyway, in this particular movie, the mom writes John’s character that she thought she’d been so noble in not telling him she was pregnant so he could travel the world and live his dreams. In my case, after my divorce, I felt somewhat noble, as well as self-sacrificing, telling anyone who would listen that I could raise my sons by myself. I didn’t need or want a man.

Looking back, I think I may have been too hasty, but I can’t do anything about it now. Except write stories about single moms who find the love of their life – or a second chance at love – somewhere, somehow, especially when they least expect it.

Leave a comment