Home » Uncategorized » The Next Big Thing Blog

The Next Big Thing Blog

Good afternoon,

I was invited to participate in the Next Big Thing blog series by Linda Carroll-Bradd, who posted last week about her newest work, MIRROR IMAGES at Musings About the Writing Life at

http://blog.lindacarroll-bradd.com/2012/11/27/the-next-bigthing-blog-.aspx

Here is the scoop on my “Next Big Thing”:

What is your working title of your book?

The working title of my current work-in-progress and soon to be ‘the next big thing’ is HER TEJANO COWBOY.

Where did the idea come from for the book?

The idea for HER TEJANO COWBOY came while I was reading SHADOW OF THE HAWK by Judith Rochelle. Her book was part of the Wayback series published by The Wild Rose Press. Judith had a minor character in her story named Henry Garza. As soon as I read the short scene in Judith’s book, the idea began to form about a star-crossed love affair between the parents of the heroine. Then, of course, the heroine would have her own star-crossed love.

It’s amazing how ideas come to me, and so, too, to other authors. Sometimes, it only takes one thing to set the creative juices flowing.

After brainstorming the idea a bit, I decided to include the two things that have constituted a large part of my life – my medical background and my love of music. The heroine is a nurse; the hero is a singing cowboy.

What genre does your book fall under?

HER TEJANO COWBOY is a contemporary romance, but contains more than just the love story between hero and heroine as there are several sub-plots.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

I do think HER TEJANO COWBOY would make a good movie and it would have a great soundtrack, which would include both Tejano music and jazz. However, I have no idea who I would like to play my characters.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

A nurse who yearns to have a husband and family of her own reunites with an ex-rodeo bull rider who is now a singing star. She wants home and hearth; he thrives on his music and the adventure of the road.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

I plan to submit my book to a traditional publisher.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

I’m still working on this manuscript, but hope to have it finished by the first quarter of the new year.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Since I was including music in this book and writing down how the hero felt about his music, how he wrote it and how he promoted it, I was inspired to write the theme song for the book, which I call “Noche de Majica”, which is Night of Magic.

Next week the following authors will be posting:

http://www.janetkaderli.blogspot.com/

